06
Jul
09

Codex Sinaiticus: Back in One Piece (Electronically Speaking)

Stephen Carlson reports that the Codex Sinaiticus Project has completed its initial work and that the entire manuscript (which includes the earliest complete copy of the New Testament) is now available online.  And not a moment too soon… the conference celebrating its digital reunification begins today.  (I believe that these events were designed to coincide with one another.)

This electronic edition will undoubtedly prove to be an incredible resource for students of ancient Christianity, biblical studies, and the textual criticism of the New Testament.  If you haven’t yet checked it out, do so now… you’ll be glad you did.

UPDATE: Chris Weimer has provided a link to a BBC article announcing the complete digitization of the manuscript.

UPDATE: Thanks to my father for forwarding a link to another recent article appearing in the New York Times.

2 Responses to “Codex Sinaiticus: Back in One Piece (Electronically Speaking)”


  1. 1 Ryan
    July 6, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I absolutely just geeked out about this to the room I happen to be sitting in. The room contains my wife, my sister, and my mother. They don’t really seem to care. My wife gave me a ‘cool’, but that was the best I got.

  2. 2 Matthew Burgess
    July 7, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Yeah… I was talking about this with my mother last night. She wasn’t nearly as excited as she should have been. 😉


Leave a Reply

