17
Apr
09

Summer Project: Eusebius of Caesarea’s Ecclesiastical History

This week I splurged a bit, and allocated a portion of my forthcoming tax refund to a book purchase: Loeb Classical Library’s two-volume edition of Eusebius of Caesarea’s Ecclesiastical History. While I’ve had these on my wish list for some time, I was especially inspired by a recent conversation with Prof. Harry Gamble–who noted that few courses, even at the graduate level, systematically examine the work in its entirety. I’m planning to read through it this summer. Anyone want to join me? 😉

4 Responses to “Summer Project: Eusebius of Caesarea’s Ecclesiastical History”


  1. 1 Roger Pearse
    April 17, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Good for you! Mind you, wouldn’t the English translation by G. A. Williamson be easier going than Lake’s version?

    But a good knowledge of what is in Eusebius will always be of inestimable utility to anyone interested in Early Christianity. Much writing on the subject consists of attempts to assert what he in fact contradicts!

  2. 2 Roger Pearse
    April 17, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Good for you! Mind you, wouldn’t the English translation by G. A. Williamson be easier going than Lake’s version?

    But a good knowledge of what is in Eusebius will always be of inestimable utility to anyone interested in Early Christianity. Much writing on the subject consists of attempts to assert what he in fact contradicts!

  3. 3 Matthew Burgess
    April 20, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement, Roger! I do own Williamson’s translation, but I wanted to work through as much of the Greek text as possible in conjunction with the English… hence my purchase of the LCL volumes.

    Plus those little green books look so scholarly on your bookshelf… 😉

  4. 4 Matthew Burgess
    April 20, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement, Roger! I do own Williamson’s translation, but I wanted to work through as much of the Greek text as possible in conjunction with the English… hence my purchase of the LCL volumes.

    Plus those little green books look so scholarly on your bookshelf… 😉


Leave a Reply

